Featured Posts

  • Nominate an Alumni Award Honoree Today

    March 23, 2017

    The Davenport University Alumni Association is currently seeking nominations for the 2017 Alumni Awards and we need your help identifying outstanding DU alumni. Do you …

  • Are You Ready for Diabetes Alert Day?

    March 20, 2017

    Did you know that one in four Americans with diabetes doesn’t know they have it? When left undiagnosed or untreated, diabetes can cause serious health …

Featured Video

Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow Program – Student Leadership Symposium

The Student Leadership Symposium of the Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow Program at Davenport University brings together students across campuses to explore their leadership traits and further enhance their leadership skills.

Designed as an immersive experience with key touchpoints throughout the week, students will work directly with Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow, Mike Markovits to truly impact their leadership skills in their current roles and to build and prepare for future careers as leaders.  Mr. Markovits brings to life the key elements of successful leadership from his experience as developer of a global leadership pool for both IBM and General Electric.

New Football Coach Hired

The extensive search for a new head football coach for Davenport attracted over 100 applicants, including some of the most successful and accomplished coaches in collegiate football. In the end, the search was narrowed down to a small group of highly qualified coaches and were honored to meet with each of them. The Search Committee consisted of key stakeholders for university success who were charged with recommending the candidate who best would represent the qualities and vision of Davenport Football and take our program to the next level of excellence.

Staff Spotlight: Ron Berg, Athletic Academic Advising

Ron Berg is an athletic academic advisor assisting student-athletes to plan their college education, provide advocacy for them and give academic guidance during their academic career at DU. Ron’s favorite part of his job is working directly with the students and interacting with them, “Watching students mature both academically and athletically is very rewarding to me.  I like answering any questions they may bring me!  I also like working daily with all my DU colleagues.  We are one big team here at DU and we are here collectively to serve our students.”

Read more on the DU Panthers website.

Athletics Grants Wish for Local Boy

Davenport University Athletics recently partnered with the Make-A-Wish Foundation to make a little boy’s wish come true. Connor Guiles, age 6, from Grand Rapids had a wish to go to Disney and Lego Land. The money raised from DU’s Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) was $5,000 and provided the resources for Connor and his family to make the trip. The family not only made it to Disney and Lego Land, but also Gator Land and Universal Studios during the trip! Connor especially loved going to Gator Land and seeing his family members wrestle alligators.

Faculty Spotlight: Midland Nursing Team

Positive Impact in the Classroom: The concentrated effort by all nursing faculty members included providing additional content study sessions for students, providing emotional support and resources necessary to address the heightened anxiety of sitting for the NCLEX examination, providing individual student mentoring, and innovative teaching strategies to help students be successful.

Davenfund has Launched!

We are excited to announced that DavenFund has launched! Davenfund was created for Davenport employees to help provide funding for things like equipment, software or professional development. Funding requests can be made by filling out the application located davenfund.davenport.edu. All applications will be reviewed for eligibility and entered into a drawing that will occur on May 15, 2017.

For more information, please visit davenfund.davenport.edu. We encourage you to submit your application and share the news with other DU employees!

Bookstore Closing Early for Inventory on February 28

The bookstore will be closing early for inventory Tuesday, February 28 at 12:00 p.m. Orders can still be placed online at DUspirit.com during this time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, but the bookstore will re-open March 1st!

Winter Session 2 Book Vouchers NOW OPEN!

Winter Session 2 book vouchers are now open in store and online at DUspirit.com. These vouchers can be used for course supplies, school uniforms, software or electronics, which include computers and tablets, and all eligible items. Shop now through March 17!

PCs to be Replaced University-Wide During Spring Break

Due to the expiration of PC leases, over 800 PCs will be replaced university-wide over Spring Break. There will be classroom PCs being replaced as well as staff/admin PCs.
This means that if any instructor or student has documents saved on the desktop PC or in the Documents folder, it will be lost during replacement.  Students and instructors need move any documents on the PCs they are using. Documents must be removed before Spring Break!
Staff and faculty members will be notified by their campus IT coordinator if their PC needs to be switched out.
Here is a breakdown:
Campus       Admin        Academic
Holland           14                61
Lansing           25                5
Lettinga          116              136      (Rm232, almost all regular room PC instructor stations)
Livonia             22              151
Midland            30                10
Warren             45               108
For specific campus rooms, contact your campus IT specialist.
Please contact Michael Case with any questions concerning this PC rollout.

2017 Excellence in Business Dinner Gala – Discounted employee tickets through payroll deduction

We are excited to announce that our 20th Anniversary Excellence in Business Dinner Gala is taking place on April 28. Proceeds from the event will continue to build on the more than $2.2 million in scholarship support that has been raised for deserving and talented students.

We will be honoring Dan DeVos, with the 2017 Peter C. Cook Excellence in Business Award and featured guest, NFL Hall of Fame quarterback, Joe Montana will join President Pappas for a play-by-play Q&A session.

Latest Tweets